Just your standard neon, plastic, lace, animal print knit orgy

To the victor go the spoils and I was very, very spoiled by the NyLon meet-up trip to Goldhawk Road. I picked up some humdingers of intriguing fabric my friends.

I give you neon crepe polyester:

Goldhawk fabric 3 A.jpg

I give you quilted metallic animal print knit (I mean, come on, how could I not? Was a union ever quite so fated?):

Goldhawk fabric 1 A.jpg

And the piece de resistance, the very luscious cherry on top of the frothiest of frosting…white laminated lace:

Goldhawk fabric 2 A.jpg

Basically that’s a tablecloth.

When I pulled this out of my pillage tote at the meet-up there were some raised eyebrows from my fellow sewers but the consensus seemed to be a raincoat was the only conceivable thing I could turn it into.

But meh, seemed too obvious to me. Plus I never wear raincoats. If it’s raining then it’s most likely cold and wrapping myself in plastic is not insulating/too Laura Palmer.

So what to do with plastic? I actually had a very specific influence in mind when I seized on this end of roll piece (exactly, people before me had loved it too!). Designer Simone Rocha’s Spring/Summer 2012 collection focused on white and sheer materials. It featured several totes made of laminated lace which created a set of tensions I found incredibly interesting: practical vs ethereal, modern process vs old craft, wipedown vs delicate handwash.

Simone Rocha S/S 12 via Style Bubble

At the moment I’m toying with the idea of a panel in a full skirt, potentially with some fabric underneath to create body. There are several high-street skirts around at the moment which work with a similar idea of a sheer organza panel creating a glimpse of skin but in a fairly restrained way.

ASOS Midi Skirt In Scuba With Sheer Panel

Using a strip of the material would also avoid the noise issue when the fabric makes contact with itself.

What do you think? Any other non-raincoat ideas? Any tips on sewing plastic? I’ve sewn vinyl previously but it had a fabric-y backing which made my life easier. Perhaps sandwiching it in tissue paper will help.

This entry was posted in fabric shopping, Fashion and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Just your standard neon, plastic, lace, animal print knit orgy

  1. Béa says:

    I like the way you’re thinking!

  2. Amazing, and I love the lace bag from SImone Rocha. No advice whatsoever for sewing with plastic, but I’m sure it can be done. Tissue paper might just be it!

  3. Pingback: Flouro Clémence skirt | the secret life of seams

Leave a Reply

