Me-Made-May ’12

‘I, Julia, of the secret life of seams, sign up as a participant of Me-Made-May ’12. I endeavour to wear a self-made or refashioned item of clothing each day for the duration of May 2012.’

Phew, I’ve taken the plunge.

I’ve seen several Me-Made-Months over the last few years and when Zoe of So, Zo… fame made her formal announcement for this year’s event, I wanted to finally take the challenge myself.

And boy is this going to be a challenge. Combining a photo session everyday with my still quite small self-made wardrobe is going to be a push! But that’s why I wanted to start blogging, to stretch myself and also hopefully engage with other sewers.

Hence I’m moving on from my mixed Mustard success and on to the Wiksten Tova pattern, which is now available as a PDF! Good news for anyone who’s tried to get their hands on the limited runs of the printed versions and failed. The inspirational Wiksten pattern Flickr group has so many fantastic versions of this top/dress pattern but Shivani’s lovely elephant print version was what finally convinced me.

So I’m cutting it out in what I suspect is some rayon, with a medium-sized white on black polka dot print.

Wish me speedy sewing, or you’re going to be seeing a lot of booooring photos in May you lucky devils.

This entry was posted in Me-Made-May '12, Modern patterns, Tops and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Me-Made-May ’12

  1. Zoe says:

    Hiya chica! So good to have you on board for this one! It was lovely to meet you IRL, and I’m so pleased you are stepping up to the challenge of donning those you-mades for a whole month. Please, less panic though!

    Zoe xxx

  2. Pingback: Taking stock for Me-Made-May ’13 | the secret life of seams

Leave a Reply

