Neon pink lace Kelly skirt

What’s this?

My new best friend is what this is.

My hands are curled into fists in case anyone tries to steal it off me. The neon makes me CRAZY.

As mentioned in my previous post, I finally bit the bullet and put my stretch neon pink lace to good use, in combination with a navy jersey underlining and an adapted Megan Nielsen Kelly skirt pattern. The design isĀ intended to be an A-line woven skirt with a button placket but by cutting the front piece on the fold, discounting the extra width for the placket, it was simple to convert to a stretch design. I cut a size S, which would probably be a good fit in a woven but in the jersey fabric it needed the elastic I inserted at the waist to make it fit snugly.

The elastic was put in using this method outlined by Fehr Trade. Since my elastic was 2 inches wide I had to chop around an inch off the height of the waistband to make sure when I folded the elastic to the inside after sewing it to the top of the waistband, that it met the rest of the skirt.

…just between us, I haven’t topstitched the elastic down after folding the waistband over it. I couldn’t figure a way to do it neatly, especially since there’s some bulk with double layers of fabric. Plus I didn’t sew the bottom hem…eh, not bothered, let’s look at the neon some more…

And you can see the results for yourself. It was pretty painless to sew, even with the navy jersey, because there are only a few pattern pieces and they’re straight-forward shapes.

Love:

  • Surprisingly painless sewing.
  • I was worried that the shape wouldn’t flatter me but I think it works okay. No behind shots I’m afraid but it looks pretty good back there with the box pleats. Take it on trust readers. This would be seriously cute in a woven.
  • Pockets.
  • The colour gets me everytime.

Love less:

  • Tights season is nearly upon us, how can I keep wearing my favourite new friend? Perhaps emigration.
This entry was posted in Knits, Modern patterns, Skirts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Neon pink lace Kelly skirt

  1. I seriously want to steal your style. You are SO COOL!!! Love this skirt and the accessorising.

  2. Fiona says:

    I love this! Plus I really love the necklace…

    • Thanks! The necklace is from H&M, as is the jacket. And the t-shirt. Hmmm, looks like they make a fair bit of money off me. I’ve been browsing your blog which I meant to do after meeting you last week, so thanks for commenting. I’m going to admire your peplum skirt now…

  3. lovely! this is such a cute pattern.

  4. Janice says:

    Super cute!

  5. Andrea says:

    Oh my. I didn’t even think about a buttonless Kelly skirt! I may have to pursue a fourth version now. Yours is great! Wear it with slippery tights once it gets colder outside. The hot neon will help keep you warm anyway.

  6. Pingback: On my desk: Jade lace + Scout tee | the secret life of seams

  7. Pingback: Riot lace tee | the secret life of seams

  8. Roobeedoo says:

    Neon – gasp – lace?! WOW! :D
    Seriously jealous!

  9. Pingback: Neon wishes | the secret life of seams

  10. Pingback: Taking stock for Me-Made-May ’13 | the secret life of seams

Leave a Reply

